If you have recently been accused of driving under the influence in Mississippi, it is imperative that you retain the services of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney immediately. Failing to get help right away could expose you to a number of different administrative and criminal penalties. Even if this is your first time being accused of driving under the influence, you cannot afford to wait to get help, as the very outcome of your case could depend on your decision to hire an attorney who is thoroughly knowledgeable about the issues involved in your case.
The support of a lawyer is imperative for your future, and you must understand the possible ignition interlock consequences that may apply. If you are arrested for a first offense DUI in Mississippi, your driving privileges are likely to be suspended for 90 days unless you have surrendered your license.
You may also need to obtain an interlock restricted driver’s license. You will need to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. You are responsible for the installation and maintenance of this device and could be accused of further consequences if you attempt to interfere with the device itself. You are ineligible for a non-restricted license for up to 90 days, and most likely the court will order you to attend and complete an alcohol safety program. If you are arrested for a second offense DUI, your driving privileges are suspended for a minimum of one year, and you will also need to obtain an ignition interlock license and device.
The ignition interlock device works by requiring you to blow into the device before starting your vehicle. Your vehicle will not start if it detects that you are under the influence of alcohol. Trying to tamper with this device or use other cars without an ignition interlock device installed could lead to further consequences. In order to avoid the possibility of an ignition interlock device and other consequences linked to a DUI conviction, retain a criminal defense attorney immediately.