Logo
Initial Consultation:
(662) 324-3476

Get Familiar with Mississippi DUI Laws

Posted on : February 18, 2016, By:  Brian Kelley
Mississippi DUI Attorney

If you’re stopped for driving under the influence of alcohol, it’s important that you know the DUI law in Mississippi. The penalties for driving while intoxicated can be harsh, and knowledge is power. Here are the penalties for first, second, and third offense DUI’s, and what you can do to protect your rights under the law.

First Offense DUI

If you are charged with a DUI for the first time, you could face:

  • Up to 48 hours in a county jail
  • Between $250 and $1,000 in fines
  • A license suspension of 90 days

Second Offense DUI

A second offense DUI is more serious. If you are charged with another DUI within five years of the first, you could face:

  • Between 5 days and 1 year in a county jail
  • Between $600 and $1,500 in fines
  • A license suspension of 2 years
  • A mandatory ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle

Third Offense DUI

Third offense DUI’s are very serious and require immediate action. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence within five years of your first or second DUI, you could face:

  • Between 1 and 5 years in a county jail or Mississippi state prison
  • Between $2,000 and $5,000 in fines
  • A 5-year license suspension
  • A mandatory ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle

Other Penalties

Whether it’s your first or your third DUI charge, you also face other penalties. The court may require you to submit to mandatory drug and alcohol counseling and community service, and you’ll have a permanent criminal record. Additionally, your insurance rates will go up and, in some cases, your car insurance may drop you altogether.

When to Contact a DUI Defense Lawyer

Being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol is frightening. You might not know who you can trust or who can help you out of a situation like this. The most important thing you can do after you are arrested is to contact an experienced DUI defense attorney.

Your attorney will go over the details of your case and look for potential strategies, including whether the BAC test results were accurate or if there was another explanation for the officer’s observations of bloodshot eyes or slurred speech, such as fatigue.

Attorney J. Brian Kelley has the expertise and resources to mount a solid defense on your behalf when you are arrested in Mississippi for drunk driving. Call today for a consultation to learn more about your rights at (662) 324-3476.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*